top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRoga Benton

You Can Do It Now! How to Save Money on Groceries


If you really want to save money on groceries, spend that money more efficiently and have an abundance of products and goods for your family to enjoy while staying within your budget, this will help you move in the right direction. Saving money on food is not only a great way to manage our personal finances, it has also become a very enjoyable passion. I enjoy getting more for less, and I enjoy getting more for less.

Take a look at these savings tips and start saving today.

Stay-at-home wife = work!

As a stay-at-home mom, I can tell you one thing: "Oh, you don't work..." and those who say that don't know any better. Being at home with my kids is a blessing, but it definitely works.

I started buying vouchers a few years ago so I could homeschool my kids and help the family more without sacrificing our decision to put family first.

I found a way to support my family financially while staying home for them.

I can see it already: everyone knows about vouchers. I use vouchers. They've been around for years. I know... Because I've heard about them and even said so myself! I heard that people were saving all their money with vouchers, so I looked around and found a few vouchers that I could use, but they didn't seem to be huge or really make a difference. I also told people that I only buy generic brands at discount stores like Walmart. It's always cheaper than using coupons for more expensive brands. So I definitely gave up on coupons. I planned my meals for the week, made a shopping list where I only bought the bare necessities, and didn't allow myself to stray from it.

I tried hard to plan my meals and cook in a balanced and economical way, but the cupboards and refrigerator were never a sight to behold. There were also always horrible non-food items. I always thought, "Sure, this toilet paper may be soft and very delicate, but it costs $1.97 more than this one!" And. Needless to say, food shopping was not in the top ten things I had to do.

How to use coupons

Then something happened that piqued my curiosity. My son came home from a friend's house and told me this story while eating food from the overflowing refrigerator and pantry as a buffet. He told me that his friend's mother shopped with coupons and spent very little money. He told me I needed to talk to my friend's mom! I did, and it opened my eyes to a whole new way of doing my food shopping. It's hard enough to cook for another week, but from now on, you have extra foods that make you smile every time you open the pantry. I've found that it's not just the coupons that count but combining them with the bargain items already in the store that week. If you buy with coupons, you'll have a surplus. And that's just the beginning.

Wow, free food!

I was really surprised by the immediate savings. And that's not all: what used to be an occasional visit to a beautiful, expensive store with lush, beautiful displays of fresh produce is now a store I frequent constantly. The best part is... When the cashier gives me the receipt and says, "Wow, you saved $48.63!" When I only spent about $40. When I get home from shopping, I regularly call my friends to tell them about the 10 bags of free cat food and the 4 boxes of cereal I bought for 2 pounds! We are so blessed, and with the extra money, we usually help families in need buy kibble, toothpaste, shampoo, and other things for at least 4 months. We help them. And most of these items were free or cost very little.

About Author:

Sara has completed her education in marketing and started her career as a digital marketer. She is a content writer by profession. And she would love to add multiple things to her knowledge that she can add to her writing style. She writes about Indian grocery Toronto in Canada.


3 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page